Category Archives: Ayurveda Basics

The Six Tastes of Ayurveda and their Essential Role on our Health

tonguetasteAccording to Ayurveda, we have access to six different tastes in our food, drinks and herbal medicine.  These tastes include Sweet, Sour, Salty, Pungent (spicy), Bitter and Astringent.  It is vital for our health that we get a balance of each taste in our daily diet and specifically each meal.  Why is it so important to get all of these flavors in our diet?  Each flavor possesses different properties, actions and health benefits while also playing an essential role in the digestive process.    Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Healthy Living Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

11 Ways to Increase Healthy Ojas

ojas4Ojas is the biological energy that represents the subtlest form of Kapha dosha and the water element of the body. This vital essence plays a direct role in our energy, strength, immunity, libido, and vitality. Therefore, if we are lacking in any of these areas, it is likely that the ojas in the body may be depleted or disturbed. Healthy ojas is needed in the body to reduce signs of aging and protect against disease. A person with “good” ojas tends to have a healthy, luminous glow. They are patient, compassionate, and rarely become sick.  Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Healthy Living Tagged , , , , , , , , |

Dinacharya: The Essential Daily Routine

clocksIn Ayurveda, Dinacharya or the daily routine is an imperative part of any and all healthcare protocols.  Having a consistent routine creates regularity in the body and in the mind.  When we are able to fill each day with essential Self-care practices, eat at proper times and create a regular sleep schedule, our whole beings are able to function at a higher level.  Our focus, clarity and emotions become stabilized and our hormones balanced.  Our energy reaches greater levels and our self-worth and wellbeing begin to shine.  Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Healthy Living Tagged , , , , , , , , , , |

Top 10 Ayurvedic Food Rules

food rulesOne of the most important concepts of Ayurveda is that of the Agni, or digestive fire, in the body. It is believed that in order to achieve optimal health, one must have a healthy, robust Agni (digestive fire). In contrast, a low digestive fire is thought to be the root cause of toxic build up and disease. Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Healthy Eating Tagged , , , , , , |

What is a Dosha?

doshaA dosha is a Sanskrit term that represents one of the main concepts behind traditional Ayurvedic medicine.  It is sometime referred to as a “bodily humor” in English, but even this has vague meaning. Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Kapha Dosha, Pitta Dosha, Vata Dosha Tagged , , , , , , , , , |

Abhyanga: The Ayurvedic Self-Oil Massage

ayurvedic massageOne of my most favorite rituals in the science of Ayurveda is definitely the practice of Abhyanga. Translated as “to oil” (abhya) and “limb” (anga), this nourishing self-oil application truly heals the body and soul from the outside in. Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Healthy Living Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Vata Dosha

vata doshaVata Dosha is the energetic force in the body that is made up of the Air (Vayu) and Space (Akasha) elements. It is said to govern all movement in the body, including circulation and respiration. Manifested of Air and Space, the qualities Vata possesses are rough, dry, light, mobile, clear, subtle and cold. Hence, an individual with a predominant Vata constitution or prakrtti, as it is known in Ayurveda, will also possess these qualities. Continue reading »

Also posted in Blog, Vata Dosha Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , |